The Windmill, Hull

Near East Park in Hull is a pub beneath a windmill. East Hull holds mystery and sadness for me. Mystery for my childhood memories of Hull centre around Hammonds and Carmichaels, the Museum Quarter and the terror of the Reckitts dentist. And sadness because when my family left the area for good it was to the docks and ferry port that we headed, a journey repeated on each return to exile, sad drives East as dusk settled on a day that would end at sea. As an adult, free at last, to a degree, I could finally return alone and explore without parental constraint. I wondered in the park, I even drove my own car, discovering, owning. I liked the Windmill, but never got round to having a drink. I painted it instead. The original can be purchased from the link below….

https://www.artfinder.com/product/the-windmill-hull/

Leave a Reply

