Tangiers, Blue Sky, by Andrew Reid Wildman

I had always wanted to visit this mysterious-sounding city on the edge of Africa, a place associated with the louche, the seedy, the exotic in my mind. Tangiers, the name echoed, tempting me, beckoning to me from across the Straits of Gibraltar. We arrived at the Spanish enclave of Ceuta, before plunging into the real North Africa. The ancient walls were white, and the sky blue, and my senses tingled in the winter chill. The air was alive with spices, cardamon and coriander, cinnamon and curry. A mournful, distant call to prayer, the tinny voice of Arabic song on radios. How could I not return to my home and not paint such scenes? This work is available at £60 (you can make an offer on Artfinder) https://www.artfinder.com/product/tangiers-blue-sky/.

Leave a Reply

