“You Just Cannot Wait To Bite Into That Lotus,” by Andrew Reid Wildman

These words are from the mouth Mrs Madrigal, the heroine of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City. And the answer is no, I just could not wait to bite into the lotus, to visit the wonderful city of my dreams, the consistent winner of my bucket list. And it took me a while to get there. But I eventually spotted San Francisco from the window of the Virgin Atlantic 777 that had carried me across one ocean and one continent and was soon to land me safely, if stiff, constipated, and nervy. I bit into the lotus and it was delicious. A city with a nastier edge than I had imagined, racially divided, socially divided, rough, at times sinister, but it was also beautiful and jet lagged and cold, we took the first open top bus tour of the day and it was a time of pure, childish joy. I painted this scene to remember my time in the city and I hope one day to return. The original is for sale at https://www.artgallery.co.uk/work/147104 and prints and posters from http://www.redbubble.com/people/golan22may/works/15943726-san-francisco

Leave a Reply

