“Next Year We Will Sit On Our Balconies….” By Andrew Reid Wildman

Many years ago, when I was in my mid-teens I first heard a song by a singer called Ilanit. It was called Ba’shanah haba’ah. At first I did not understand a word, unable to speak Hebrew. Later I learned the words. Next year, when things are better, different, brighter, we will sit on our terraces and balconies and the birds will sing and children laugh. It was a song promising a Land Flowing with Milk and Honey, a land of blue sky, of gently rustling date trees, a place to escape, a place to rest, and I wanted it. I wanted to flee my captivity, to cross the seas on the wings of an eagle, to live in the strange and beguiling country I had fallen in love with from afar. And one day, when I was not expecting it to be so, for life has its ways of surprising us, I indeed found myself living there. It was not quite as I had hoped, nor did it last a lifetime, but it is part of my history now, cherished, loved, and as I so often do, I paint to remember. This work is for sale as prints, posters, cards and cushions at http://www.redbubble.com/people/golan22may/works/16226308-tel-aviv-balconies, the original directly from me, and the song that inspired the work can be heard at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYYo00JbCks

Leave a Reply

