Go Dutch Pancake House, by Andrew Reid Wildman

I often return to earlier works and repaint them bigger and bolder. This work depicts the Go Dutch Pancake House in Hull. I love this venue. Many of my works are here, and it is the largest public collection of my work anywhere in the world. The upstairs lounge doubles as an excellent gallery, with fresh walls, and plenty of natural light and spot lighting. I feel a rush of pride when I see my work here. One area of the space is for my Hull-themed works, and pride of place here goes to my depiction of Ella Street, the Street of Birds and Shadows as it is sometimes called. It is a work of warm realism, a piece of eternal summer.
Ella Street
I also have on show a work that features the back of some typically Hull houses, suffused with dark, brown brick. The day when I took the photographs that informed this work I was soaked to the skin so I decided to add my own summery sky.
Back of Ten Foot at Go Dutch
The larger works on the other wall were specially painted to reflect the Dutch atmosphere of the pancake house. I have a natural affinity for all things Dutch, and am influenced by the realism present in Dutch and Danish art. I enjoyed the challenge. It brought back many a pleasant daydream of misspent days in Amsterdam in my youth.
Amsterdam big pancake
dsc_0379dsc_0378
New works will be going up soon. There are works of local Hull scenes on square 24″ x 24″ canvases. These include views of the Guildhall, the Station Hotel, the Dock Offices, and one of Hessle Road. The Hessle Road work was painted to be included the Assemble Fest programme.
Guildhall
maritime museum (5)
Paragon Square
station hotel (1)
DSC_0051 (2)
When I had the honour to appear on Estuary TV recently, filming at Go Dutch was the natural choice of venue. It was an incredibly exciting experience.

A few days later I was interviewed on radio, and also featured in the Hull Daily Mail as part of the Free Art Hull event. http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Free-art-hidden-Hull-s/story-26643567-detail/story.html
As a way of celebrating an incredible week I decided to repaint Go Dutch, using new techniques, a bolder canvas, a cheekier range of colour…..Go Dutch is the perfect fusion of art and hospitality. I have spent several evenings here, enjoying Dutch savoury pancakes and spicy, clove-scented beer. DSC_0019

DSC_0037
I am always happy to consider commissions of building portraits. I also have work for sale on two sites, at http://www.artgallery.co.uk/artist/andrew_reid_wildman and at https://www.artfinder.com/andrew-reid-wildman. All my work can be made into posters and prints on request, from around £15 upwards.

Leave a Reply

