East End, London

When I first moved to London, I became an honorary East Ender. I worshipped here, at the only Reform synagogue in the area, the Settlement Synagogue, ending the Sabbath morning with herring and sweet wine and doughy bread; and I made my first tentative forays onto London’s gay scene here too, at the White Swan and other pubs, louche, peripheral. I was, and am, fascinated by the area’s rich history, it inspired me to take my master’s in Victorian Studies, and I am drawn to its port feel, its decay, its darkness.
DSC_0732

DSC_0733 (2)

DSC_0735

Leave a Reply

