Come and sit with me a while

Come and sit with me a while, I thought. Come and sit with me. But no answer came. And the only sounds were hollow because you could not hear me anymore. The hiss of bubbling water, thousands of bubbles, each muttering, scented with caramel coffee. And the sizzling of bacon, the smell rich and meaty, lingering on my clothes, ready for pancakes and maple syrup, that most exotic and indulgent of breakfasts, reminding me of a time long ago, when I was a child and such things delighted me. Come and sit with me again, I coaxed. But you could not hear. I sat on the bench and I felt its texture with the tips of my fingers. Outside a trolley rattled, a siren screamed. I was far from home, but I was at peace here, alone in a vast land, in a city not my own.
9437557451_3e285c31e1_b

Leave a Reply

